Roberto Martinez has announced his 26-man Belgium squad for Euro 2020, which features 9 players from England’s Premier League.

Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne was a given selection and has been included alongside Leicester trio Timothy Castagne, Dennis Praet and FA Cup final hero – Youri Tielemans.

Roberto Martinez’s squad also includes Inter Milan forward Romelu Lukaku who has had a phenomenal season for both, club and country, and Real Madrid star Eden Hazard.

Belgium, the world’s top-ranked side by FIFA, have been drawn in Group B of the European Championship along with 2018 FIFA World Cup hosts and quarterfinalists Russia, Euro 1992 winners Denmark and Finland.

The other England-based players in the squad are Tottenham defender Toby Alderweireld, Brighton forward Leandro Trossard, Christian Benteke of Crystal Palace and Michy Batshuayi, who spent this season on loan with fellow striker Benteke at Selhurst Park from Chelsea.

There is also a place for Borussia Dortmund midfielder Axel Witsel, who had an operation on his Achilles tendon in January and resumed running just a few days ago.

“With a squad extended to 26 [from the usual 23, because of the impact of Covid-19], I can take this risk [on Witsel] – he’s a unique player,” said Martinez.

There is no place in the 26 for former Everton and Manchester United midfielder Marouane Fellaini, who has not played for Belgium since the 2018 World Cup after which he left to play in China so it is no surprise that he has been left out.

The rapid development of players like Praet, Carrasco and Tielemans means that Martinez can afford to leave out the towering midfielder.

Former Manchester United player and current Real Sociedad star Adnan Januzaj was also excluded from the squad. Januzaj featured in the last friendly for the Red Devils but did not manage to make the cut for next month’s tournament.

A surprise inclusion in this list is Thomas Vermaelen who struggled during his time at Arsenal in the Premier League but has found his mojo playing football in Japan. His experience could prove to be invaluable.

The squad, which also includes a stand-by list of 11 players, must be officially declared to UEFA by 1st June 2021 at the latest.


Belgium’s 26-member squad


  1. Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Spain)
  2. Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge, Belgium)
  3. Matz Sels (Racing Strasbourg, France)


  1. Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur, England)
  2. Dedryck Boyata (Hertha Berlin, Germany)
  3. Timothy Castagne (Leicester City, England)
  4. Jason Denayer (Olympique Lyonnais, France)
  5. Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund, Germany)
  6. Thomas Vermaelen (Vissel Kobe, Japan)
  7. Jan Vertonghen (Benfica, Portugal)


  1. Nacer Chadli (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey)
  2. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, England)
  3. Leander Dendoncker (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England)
  4. Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund, Germany)
  5. Dennis Praet (Leicester City, England)
  6. Youri Tielemans (Leicester City, England)
  7. Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge, Belgium)
  8. Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund, Germany)


  1. Michy Batshuayi (Crystal Palace, England)
  2. Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace, England)
  3. Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid, Spain)
  4. Jeremy Doku (Stade Rennes, France)
  5. Eden Hazard (Real Madrid, Spain)
  6. Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan, Italy)
  7. Dries Mertens (Napoli, Italy)
  8. Leandro Trossard (Brighton and Hove Albion, England)