Apart from the UEFA and CAF, there are 4 other continental confederations as well.

Here are the remaining 4 FIFA confederations that govern football operations in their respective regions.


CONCACAFThe Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football is one of FIFA’s six continental governing bodies for association football.

Its 41 member associations represent countries and territories mainly in North America, including the Caribbean and Central America, and due to geopolitical reasons, three nations from the Guianas subregion of South America — Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana (an overseas region of France).

The CONCACAF is the third-most successful FIFA confederation. Mexico dominated the CONCACAF men’s competition early on and has won the most Gold Cups since the beginning of the tournament in its current format.

The CONCACAF federation is divided into three regional federations that have responsibility for part of the region’s geographical area:

  1. Caribbean Football Union (CFU) – represents all 27 nations in the Caribbean, plus Bermuda and three nations in South America.
  2. North American Football Union (NAFU) – represents the two countries in Northern America and Mexico.
  3. Union Centroamericana de Fútbol (UNCAF) – represents the seven countries in Central America.




The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL or CSF) is the governing body of football in the continent of South America. It excludes Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana, however.

It is one of FIFA’s six continental confederations. The oldest continental confederation in the world, its headquarters are located in Luque, Paraguay, near Asunción. CONMEBOL is responsible for the organization and governance of South American football’s major international tournaments. With 10 member football associations, it has the fewest members of all the confederations in FIFA.

CONMEBOL national teams have won nine FIFA World Cups (Brazil five, Uruguay two, and Argentina two), and CONMEBOL clubs have won 22 Intercontinental Cups and four FIFA Club World Cups. Argentina and Uruguay have won two Olympic gold medals each, and Brazil has won one Olympic gold medal. It is considered one of the strongest confederations in the world.

The World Cup qualifiers of CONMEBOL have been described as the “toughest qualifiers in the world” for their simple round-robin system, entry of some of the top national teams in the world, leveling of the weaker national teams, climate conditions, geographic conditions, strong home stands, and passionate supporters.

The body oversees the Copa America, which is the biggest international competition in South America. The Copa Libertadores and Copa Sudamericana are the most prestigious club competitions in the continent.

The main competition for men’s national teams is the Copa América, which started in 1916. The Copa Libertadores was first held in 1960 and the Copa Sudamericana was launched by CONMEBOL in 2002 as an indirect successor to the Supercopa Libertadores (begun in 1988).



The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) was established in May 1954 in Manila, Philippines. The organisation is headquartered in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

It is 1 of the 6 FIFA confederations and is the governing body for Asian (and Australian) football. The confederation has 46 member countries currently registered under it.

The AFC is divided into 5 regions, namely –

  1. West Asian Football Federation (WAFF)
  2. Central Asian Football Association (CAFA)
  3. South Asian Football Federation (SAFF)
  4. ASEAN Football Federation (AFF)
  5. East Asian Football Federation (EAFF)



Oceania FootballThe Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) is one of the six continental confederations of international association football recognised under the FIFA banner.

The OFC’s members consist of New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, and several Pacific Island countries. It promotes the game in Oceania and is in charge of holding qualifiers through which the member nations qualify for the FIFA World Cup.

OFC is the only confederation to have not had at least one international title, with the best result being Australia making the final of the 1997 FIFA Confederations Cup.