Big East History

Established in 1979, the Big East Conference now fields twenty-four NCAA sports. The Big East has seventeen total members, with eight of them competing in football’s division I FBS. Big East football did not begin until the 1991 season, at which time it was dominated by powerhouse Miami. While the Big East has a stronger reputation as a basketball conference, many of its members field consistently competitive football teams, and the conference has been growing stronger across the board as a football power. No current Big East football team has had a Heisman winner in its history, though Gino Torreta won the award while Miami was a Big East member.

Big East Teams and Realignment

Big East football has recently undergone a number of changes to its membership, with universities leaving and joining the conference rapidly in recent years. Big East’s eight 2012 members are Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Pittsburgh, Rutgers, South Florida, Syracuse, and Temple. In the 2013 season, Pittsburgh and Syracuse are set to join the ACC, following the course of former members Miami (left in 2004), Virginia Tech (2004), and Boston College (2004). West Virginia also left the conference, moving to the Big 12 in 2012. The Big East is scheduled to add a slate of new members in 2013. Houston, Southern Methodist, Central Florida, Memphis, Boise State, and San Diego State will join Big East football, with Navy joining in 2015. Thus, the twelve Big East members for the 2013 season are Connecticut, Temple, Rutgers, Cincinnati, Louisville, South Florida, Houston, SMU, UCF, Memphis, Boise State, and San Diego State. None of the current Big East members are considered powerhouse football programs of the BCS, though the many additions, notably Boise State, may advance the conferences standing in football.

Big East Structure, Championship, and Bowls

With only eight teams, the Big East Conference does not have separate divisions for 2012, though it will be forming division with the expansion to twelve football members. The Big East will also take on a championship game format, with the division winners facing off to decide the Big East Champion. The Big East has a number of bowl tie-ins. While the conference winner is not attached to a specific bowl, the second place team faces the ACC’s third-place team in the Champ Sports Bowl. The third, fourth, fifth, and sixth Big East teams are placed in the Belk, Pinstripe, BBVA Compass or Liberty, and Beef O’Brady bowl games, respectively.

Big East Region

The Big East Conference has historically been confined to schools along the east coast or in the eastern half of the country. However, the additions to Big East Football have spread the conference out across the entire country. While many of its football programs remain in the northeast of the country, Big East football now also takes place in California (SDSU), Texas (SMU and Houston), and Idaho (Boise State).

Big East Betting

Big East football offers many great ways to win money by betting on college football and using The changes to the conference’s structure will make for several intriguing yearly matchups between new rivals. Not just a basketball conference anymore, the Big East appears to be a conference on the rise. Big East teams may be capable of several upsets of the NCAA’s best teams in the coming years. Big payouts can be had by following and betting on Big East football. News on team performances and Big East recruiting classes is available at Odds, prop bets, and betting advice  can make Big East football highly profitable for college football gamblers.