Cristiano Ronaldo won his first ever Ballon d’Or in 2008 while playing for United (

Manchester United won its 3rd UEFA Champions League title in 2008 when they beat Chelsea in a memorable penalty shootout in the final. The game ended 1-1 after 90 minutes.

Cristiano Ronaldo had given the Red Devils the lead with a stunning header from a Wes Brown cross to beat Petr Cech in goal. Frank Lampard equalised for the Blues after a mishap at the back by Manchester United.

Heading into penalties, Cristiano Ronaldo’s penalty was saved by the Czech goalkeeper but John Terry, Chelsea’s captain, slipped on the decisive penalty that would have seen his team win the final and the ball thudded off the post and went wide.

The rest is history as Edwin van der Sar managed to save Nicholas Anelka’s penalty to give United their third European crown in Moscow.

Man United had secured the Premier League prior to the Champions League final by beating Chelsea by 2 points in the end. This was United’s 10th title of the Premier League era and 17th league title.

Manchester United squad for the 2007-08 season

Manager: Sir Alex Ferguson


No. Pos. Name
1 GK
 Edwin van der Sar
2 DF
 Gary Neville (C)
3 DF
 Patrice Evra
4 MF
 Owen Hargreaves
5 DF
 Rio Ferdinand
6 DF
 Wes Brown
7 MF
 Cristiano Ronaldo
8 MF
9 FW
 Louis Saha
10 FW
 Wayne Rooney
11 MF
 Ryan Giggs (VC)
12 GK
 Ben Foster
13 MF
 Park Ji-sung
14 DF
 Gabriel Heinze
15 DF
 Nemanja Vidić
16 MF
 Michael Carrick
17 MF
18 MF
 Paul Scholes
19 DF
 Gerard Piqué
20 FW
 Ole Gunnar Solskjær
21 FW
 Dong Fangzhuo
22 DF
 John O’Shea
23 DF
 Jonny Evans
24 MF
 Darren Fletcher
25 DF
 Danny Simpson
26 DF
 Phil Bardsley
27 DF
 Mikaël Silvestre
28 MF
 Darron Gibson
29 GK
 Tomasz Kuszczak
30 MF
 Lee Martin
32 FW
 Carlos Tevez
33 MF
 Chris Eagles
34 MF
 Rodrigo Possebon
38 GK
 Tom Heaton
39 FW
 Fraizer Campbell
40 DF
 Adam Eckersley
43 MF
 Sam Hewson
45 FW
 Febian Brandy
46 DF
 Richard Eckersley
47 FW
 Danny Welbeck