Puerto Rico


Federación Puertorriqueña de Fútbol


Estadio Centroamericano, Mayaguez


Dave Sarachan


Nicolás Cardona


Andrés Cabrero


Héctor Ramos


El Huracán Azul (The Blue Hurricane)

Puerto Rico


The Puerto Rico national football team represents Puerto Rico in men’s international football, and is governed by the Federación Puertorriqueña de Fútbol (FPF).

The team’s nickname is El Huracán Azul, which means The Blue Hurricane. They are members of the Caribbean Football Union, and part of CONCACAF.

The team has never qualified for the FIFA World Cup or CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Football in Puerto Rico

Football is one of the leading sports of Puerto Rico, ranking only behind baseball, basketball and boxing, in national popularity and is the number one participation sport on the island.

There has been significant growth in the sport in recent years, as traditionally football has played a very small role in Puerto Rico.

The sport on the island is governed by the Puerto Rican Football Federation – an affiliate of FIFA.

Puerto Rico soccer league system

The Puerto Rico soccer league system is a series of professional and amateur soccer leagues based in Puerto Rico.

Sometimes erroneously called the Puerto Rican soccer pyramid, teams and leagues in the United States are not linked by the system of promotion and relegation typical in soccer elsewhere.

Instead, the Puerto Rican Football Federation (FPF) officially defines leagues in levels, called divisions, with the top two sanctioned directly by the FPF.

Puerto Rico Soccer League

The Puerto Rico Soccer League or PRSL (LigaPro) is a football league in Puerto Rico founded in 2008 and the first unified football league in the island’s history.

Football had been growing in popularity in recent years, and this was an attempt to further develop the game on the island.

Copa Luis Villarejo Puerto Rico

Copa Luis Villarejo

The Copa Luis Villarejo is an association football in Puerto Rico.

Created in 2016, it is open to all clubs that are affiliated with the Puerto Rican Football Federation.

Caribbean Club Championship

Caribbean Club Championship

The Caribbean Club Championship, also known as the CFU Club Championship or CFU Club Champions’ Cup is the Caribbean football championship.

It is an annual international club football competition held amongst football clubs from the Caribbean for clubs that are members of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU).

The Caribbean Club Championship serves as a qualifying event for the CONCACAF Champions League tournament.

The tournament is officially the Flow CONCACAF Caribbean Club Championship for sponsorship reasons since 2018.

With the expansion of the CONCACAF Champions League starting from the 2023–24 edition, the 2022 edition of the Caribbean Club Championship will be the last held.

Instead, a regional cup tournament, the Caribbean Cup, will be launched as a qualifying tournament of the CONCACAF Champions League for teams from the Caribbean, besides those which qualify directly through their professional leagues.