Germany have confirmed their 26-man squad for Euro 2020 and it is a welcome recall for Bayern Munich star Thomas Muller and Borussia Dortmund centre-back Mats Hummels for the first time since the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Germany have been in a rebuilding face ever since their poor performance at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia and head coach Joachim Low now thinks that it is high time to bring back the veterans given the failure of their youngsters to succeed consistently.

It has been a tough 18 months for the Germans so having the experienced faces will definitely benefit Die Mannschaft going into a tough Euro 2020 group. The Germans have been drawn against European champions Portugal and world champions France in Group F, which is definitely going to be the “Group of Death”. Hungary is the fourth team in the group and will be keen on causing some upset.

Muller has scored 11 times and created an impressive 18 assists this season as Bayern won the Bundesliga, while Hummels has been a regular in helping Dortmund earn a Champions League spot for next season.

More importantly, the two have won the World Cup with Germany in 2014 so that can count for a lot going into a high-pressure competition.

With goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen set to miss the European Championship through injury, Arsenal’s Bernd Leno and Eintracht Frankfurt’s Kevin Trapp will be joining Manuel Neuer as Germany’s three goalkeepers.

Another marquee absentee from the list is Dortmund captain Marco Reus who chose to opt-out of the European Championship given his long history with injury. He decided to use this time for recovery given the short turnaround in the season with the Euros taking place immediately next month and the season due to kick off in August.

There is a strong Premier League representation in the German squad, much like Belgium and France with Robin Koch from Leeds United getting a call-up. The regular names from Chelsea – Antonio Rudiger, Kai Havertz and Timo Werner – have also been named in Germany’s Euro 2020 squad and Ilkay Gundogan who has had an exemplary season for Premier League champions Manchester City, could not be left out.

Here is the 26-member squad for Germany at the European Championship.



  1. Manuel Neuer (Bayern München, Germany)
  2. Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt, Germany)
  3. Bernd Leno (Arsenal, England)


  1. Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea, England)
  2. Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund, Germany)
  3. Matthias Ginter (Borussia Mönchengladbach, Germany)
  4. Niklas Süle (Bayern München, Germany)
  5. Emre Can (Borussia Dortmund, Germany)
  6. Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig, Germany)
  7. Robin Gosens (Atalanta, Italy)
  8. Robin Koch (Leeds United, England)
  9. Christian Günter (SC Freiburg, Germany)
  10. Marcel Halstenberg (RB Leipzig, Germany)

Midfielders & Attackers

  1. Joshua Kimmich (Bayern München, Germany)
  2. Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City, England)
  3. Serge Gnabry (Bayern München, Germany)
  4. Kai Havertz (Chelsea, England)
  5. Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Spain)
  6. Leon Goretzka (Bayern München, Germany)
  7. Timo Werner (Chelsea, England)
  8. Thomas Müller (Bayern München, Germany)
  9. Leroy Sane (Bayern München, Germany)
  10. Jonas Hofmann (Borussia Mönchengladbach, Germany)
  11. Jamal Musiala (Bayern München, Germany)
  12. Florian Neuhaus (Borussia Mönchengladbach, Germany)
  13. Kevin Volland (AS Monaco, France)