Executives at the clubs involved in the failed breakaway European Super League have been forced to resign from advisory roles in the Premier League.

The move is a consequence of the famed ‘Big Six’ teams attempting to set up a league that drew widespread criticism before it fell apart.

The 14 other Premier League clubs felt betrayed by the move and demanded that the executives involved, including Manchester United’s Ed Woodward, Liverpool’s Tom Werner and Manchester City’s Ferran Soriano, quit with immediate effect.

Woodward and Werner will no longer sit on the Premier League’s club broadcast advisory group either.

Soriano and Arsenal’s chief executive Vinai Venkatesham have been removed from the club strategic advisory group, while Chelsea chairman Bruce Buck is no longer on the audit and remuneration committee as well.

Tottenham, who were also part of the 48-hour European Super League breakaway, did not have representation in the three groups, which were introduced only 18 months back where the teams would discuss ideas before they were presented to clubs to vote on.

It has been confirmed that these resignations will, by no means, affect any of the six clubs’ voting rights in the Premier League.