Gareth Southgate announced his final 26-man squad for Euro 2020 that sees Jesse Lingard missing out while Trent Alexander-Arnold earns a much-talked call-up back to the Three Lions squad.

Southgate had announced a provisional 33-man England squad a week back that had to be trimmed on 1st June on submission day for the final Euros squad, which meant 7 players were to miss out on that list.

Here are the 7 names that failed to make England’s final cut from the provisional list.

  1. Mason Greenwood (Manchester United) – Backed out due to injury
  2. Ben White (Brighton & Hove Albion)
  3. James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)
  4. Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)
  5. Jesse Lingard (Manchester United, on-loan at West Ham United)
  6. Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United)
  7. Ben Godfrey (Everton)

The player that highlights the final list, however, is Trent Alexander-Arnold. There was much talk about him being left out from the England squad given that he was dropped for the last round of the European qualifiers but his performance towards the end of the season warranted his return.

The 22-year-old is one of four right-backs to get called up alongside Manchester City’s Kyle Walker, Atletico Madrid’s Kieran Trippier and Chelsea’s Reece James.

Injured Manchester United and Liverpool captains – Harry Maguire and Jordan Henderson, have also been included in Southgate’s squad as he is optimistic about their returns.

Liverpool skipper Henderson has been out of action since February with a groin injury while United captain Maguire missed the last four league games of the season and the Europa League final following ankle ligament damage.

The final England squad features no debutants for the tournament, which starts on 11 June.

Southgate said: “I think every squad [selection] is difficult because we have a lot of talented players in this country.

“The most difficult thing [this time] is not being able to take players who have been with us in previous matches and are such good professionals, so I know what a disappointment it is for them, at the moment, not to be going to a major championship.”

Southgate added: “The most complex part has been those injuries and whether we should take the chance on people – players like Jordan Henderson and Harry Maguire not being quite where they normally are.

“With the experience that they have, we think we can get them to a point where they have an involvement in the tournament and it’s worth taking them – especially as we have an extended squad of 26.”

The tournament was delayed by a year because of the coronavirus pandemic and will begin on 11 June, with the final taking place at Wembley Stadium on 11 July.

Southgate will get the chance to assess his picks in two friendlies, against Austria on Wednesday and Romania on Sunday. Both matches take place at Middlesbrough’s Riverside Stadium.

Southgate said Lingard, Ward-Prowse and Watkins were given the option to go home after missing out on the final squad but chose to remain for this week’s friendlies, which speaks volumes of the tight bond the English team shares.

He also added that White, Godfrey and Ramsdale knew beforehand they were part of the provisional squad in order to gain experience.

The Three Lions begin their Euros campaign against 2018 FIFA World Cup finalists Croatia on 13 June, which will be a revenge game in many ways as the English will try to avenge the semifinal loss from Russia.

The English will then face neighbours Scotland in a huge rivalry match on 18 June, before rounding off Group D against the Czech Republic on 22 June.

All of England’s group games will take place at Wembley Stadium in London. They will also have the chance to play a last-16 tie at home if they win their group, with both semifinals and the final being held at Wembley.

Here is England’s final 26-man squad for the Euros.



  1. Dean Henderson (Man Utd)
  2. Sam Johnstone (West Brom)
  3. Jordan Pickford (Everton)


  1. John Stones (Man City)
  2. Luke Shaw (Man Utd)
  3. Harry Maguire (Man Utd)
  4. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  5. Kyle Walker (Man City)
  6. Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa)
  7. Reece James (Chelsea)
  8. Conor Coady (Wolves)
  9. Ben Chilwell (Chelsea)
  10. Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid)


  1. Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  2. Declan Rice (West Ham)
  3. Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
  4. Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
  5. Kalvin Phillips (Leeds)


  1. Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  2. Marcus Rashford (Man Utd)
  3. Raheem Sterling (Man City)
  4. Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton)
  5. Phil Foden (Man City)
  6. Jack Grealish (Aston Villa)
  7. Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)
  8. Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)