Western Athletic Conference (WAC) History

The Western Athletic Conference, better known as the WAC, was founded in 1962 in order to govern the athletics of many of the western United States’ top athletic programs. The WAC fields 19 NCAA sports and is a member of Division I FBS. In football, the WAC has produced one National Champion: BYU in 1984.

WAC Reorganization and Status

Of the conferences six charter universities, none remain with the WAC today. A conference that was once sixteen schools strong has been essentially decimated in terms of membership. The loss of top program Boise State in 2011 signaled the beginning of a massive conference departure, with the WAC dropping from seven to two universities in 2013. The stability of WAC football is in question; with two teams insufficient to sustain a Division I status, the WAC may be forced to either find expansion programs or dissolve for the 2013 football season. New Mexico State is the only WAC member not currently set to leave the conference.

WAC Bowls

The WAC has one bowl game tie-in. The Famous Idaho Potato Bowl, played in Boise, places the top pick of the WAC against the number three pick in the MAC.

WAC Region

The WAC is primarily based in the western half of the United States, though it also has universities in Louisiana and Texas. Football schools are also located in California, Idaho, and Utah.

Western Athletic Conference Betting

Despite its recent dissension as a football conference, the Western Athletic Conference can still be a great conference to find winning wagers on. FootballBetting.org has tips and odds on Western Athletic Conference betting. These include regular season, bowl games, futures bets, and prop bets on anything concerning the WAC. Underrated schools in small conferences are often capable of pulling of major upsets and rewarding college football bettors handsomely.