8 players have been shortlisted for the 2020-21 Premier League Player of the Season award including Ruben Dias and Kevin de Bruyne from newly-crowned English champions Manchester City.

Premier League Golden Boot winner Harry Kane had to be included in the race following a stellar season for Tottenham and so did Manchester United midfielder Bruno Fernandes who was majorly instrumental in his team finishing 2nd in the league.

Liverpool top-scorer Mohamed Salah could not be left out from the conversation either as he had an outstanding season although Jurgen Klopp’s Reds struggled otherwise.

UEFA Champions League winner Mason Mount has had a terrific season for the Blues that has seen him cement his place not only in Chelsea’s starting line-up but also in England’s first team going into the European Championships.

West Ham’s Tomas Soucek who will face-off against England with the Czech Republic in Group D of Euro 2020, has also made the cut amongst the Premier League’s best. Aston Villa’s Jack Grealish completes the nominees’ list and he will be keen on having an impact at the Euros with the Three Lions.

Pep Guardiola is in contention for the manager award following City’s success.



Guardiola, whose side claimed a third title in four seasons, faces competition from Leeds United boss Marcelo Bielsa, West Ham’s David Moyes, Leicester City’s Brendan Rodgers and Manchester United’s Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

Portuguese defender Dias was named men’s footballer of the year by the Football Writers’ Association in May.

England captain Kane claimed the 2020-21 Golden Boot with 23 goals, just one ahead of Salah and five clear of Fernandes who was immense for the Red Devils this season.

Mount helped Champions League winners Chelsea claim a top-four spot, while Soucek’s Hammers secured Europa League football and Grealish helped Villa to an 11th-placed finish in the club’s second season back in the top flight.

The winner is decided by votes from the public on the EA Sports website, combined with those of the 20 Premier League club captains and a panel of football experts.