Sevilla football club historyManager – Unai Emery

Chairman – Jose Castro Carmona

Nickname – Sevillistas/Los Rojiblancos

Ground – Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan, Andalusia

Rivals – Real Betis (El derbi Sevillano)

Founded in the year 1890 Sevilla FC is the oldest football club in Spain solely dedicated to Association Football. Sevilla is the most successful Andalusian club to feature in the La Liga having won the league on one occasion and finishing as runners-up on another four occasions.

Sevilla have won the Copa del Rey competition a total of 5 times and the UEFA Europa league a record number of four times and are the current holders of the trophy. Sevilla share a strong rivalry with fellow Andalusian club Real Betis and the matches between these two are called El derbi Sevillano.

The Rojiblancos play their home games at the Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan in Andalusia since 1958 and has a seating capacity of 45,500. Sevilla has been a part in 66 of the 83 La Liga seasons till date and have never dropped below the second tier of Spanish football.

Sevilla FC Beginnings

The popularity of football in the city Sevilla increased towards the end of the 19th century due to the influx of large British immigrants into the city. The decision to form a football club based in the city was taken by a group of young British and Spanish men during the Burns Night festival in the City on 25th January, 1890.

The club’s official founding document published on the Dundee’s Courier edition of March 17, 1890 fully describes how the decision to form the club was taken and how they all decided to play under Association Football rules.

Sevilla Football Club’s first president was Mr. Edward Farquharson Johnston who was the British Vice-Councillor in Sevilla at that time. The club’s first captain was another Scott Hugh Maccoll.

Sevilla played their first official game against another club from Huelva and the game took place on 8th March, 1890. The match between these was later recognized as the first even official football game played in Spain. Sevilla went onto win the game 2-0.

Sevilla Trophy Cabient

Copa del Rey

Sevilla FC took part in the Copa del Rey competitions for the first time in 1919 becoming the first Andalusian club to the reach the final round of the competition, where they would go onto reach the semi-finals before losing to eventual runners-up Barcelona (7-3) on aggregate.

Sevilla won their first ever Copa del Rey title in 1935 when they beat CD Sabadell 3-0 in the final. Rojiblancos would go on to win the Copa de Espana four more times most recently in the 2009/10 season when they beat Atletico Madrid 2-0 in the final.

Sevilla Copa del Rey wins: –  1935, 1939, 1947/48, 2006/07 and 2009/10

La Liga

Sevilla FC have been a part of 66 of the 83 La Liga season till date. Sevilla were not a part of the La Liga when it was formed in 1929 but they were part of the Segunda division and remained there till 1933/34 season when they won the Segunda division thereby gaining promotion for the 1934/35 La Liga season.

In their first ever season in the top-flight Sevilla managed a strong mid-table finish in addition to winning the Copa del Rey for the first time. Sevilla would challenge for the La Liga title for the first time in the 1939/40 season when they ended up finishing 2nd behind Athletic Bilbao by a single point.

Sevilla’s one and only La Liga title till date came in the 1945/46 season when they finished ahead of Barcelona FC by a single point. Since their title winning campaign Sevilla has failed to win the title again narrowly missing out on a couple of occasion in 1950/51 and 1956/57.

Sevilla La Liga wins: – 1945/46

Runners-up: – 1939/40, 1942/43, 1950/51 and 1956/57

 Europe Championships

Sevilla took place in the European competitions for the first time in the 1957/58 European Cup after finishing as the runners-up in the La Liga in the previous season. They fairly well in the competition managing to reach the quarter-final stages of the tournament before getting knocked out after losing to Real Madrid (10-2) on aggregate.

They have taken part in the Champions League competitions a further three times but their quarter-finals appearance in 1957/58 remains their best ever performance in the competition.

Sevilla have also taken part in the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup and the UEFA Europe League and are the most successful team in the Europa League having won the competition a total of 4 times. All four of Sevilla’s Europe league wins came in the last decade and are the current holders of the tournament having beaten Ukrainian club Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk 3-2 in the final.

Sevilla UEFA final game goals:

Sevilla have also competed in the UEFA Super Cup on three occasions winning it once in 2006 beating Barcelona 3-0 in the final. The Rojiblancos are scheduled to take on Barcelona once again in the 2015 UEFA Super Cup final.

Sevilla Europe league wins: – 2005/06, 2006/07, 2013/14 and 2014/15   

Sevilla UEFA Super Cup wins: – 2006

Men Who have made a difference